Digital influencers

Twenty creators, innovators, and strategists who are at the forefront shaping the digital communications landscape

As the industry adjusts to seismic changes, there has been an emergence of creators, innovators, and strategists, who are at the forefront shaping the digital communications landscape. PRWeek highlights, in 140 characters or less, 20 having the greatest impact on communications and PR, along with their number of Twitter followers.* 

Scott Monty Global head of social media, Ford @ScottMonty (101,029)
In addition to being a global social media strategic adviser for Ford, Monty is an active blogger and a well-respected industry pundit.

Steve Rubel Chief content strategist, Edelman @steverubel (83,902)
Rubel has become a prominent voice in the world of content marketing and keeps the world's largest PR agency at the leading edge.

John Bell Global MD, Social@Ogilvy @jbell99 (12,943)
Leading Ogilvy's social media practice, Bell also explores the application of social media and word-of-mouth marketing in his blog. 

Bonin Bough VP, global media and consumer engagement Mondelez International, @boughb (12,421)
Bough is pioneering an innovative and integrated marketing approach at the CPG giant, breaking new ground in mobile and real-time marketing.

Kara Swisher Co-executive editor, AllThingsD @karaswisher (908,413)
She is one of the most influential journalists in the tech space. Her connections and skills make Swisher a maestro at getting scoops.

Stephanie Agresta Global director, social media and digital, MSLGroup @stephagresta (21,134)
As a thought leader in the digital space for more than 15 years, she shares her expertise with more than 150 digital pros at MSLGroup.

Rachel Haot Chief digital officer, City of New York  @rachelhaot (48,689)
As New York's first digital officer, Haot has devised a roadmap for the city's digital journey, while supporting its growing tech sector.

Shiv Singh Head of global brand and marketing transformation,  Visa @shivsingh  (31,725)
Singh is a well-regarded social media marketer, recently joining Visa from PepsiCo where he was behind several key digital efforts.

Sarah Hofstetter President, 360i @Pezmeister1 (2,865)
Hofstetter has become a thought leader in real-time marketing, leading the firm behind Oreo's highly popular Dunk in the Dark ad this year.

Musa Tariq Global senior director of social media and community,  Nike @MusaTariq (6,849)
Formerly Burberry's social media head honcho, Tariq's work won the brand acclaim in digital. He moved to a similar role at Nike last year.

Gabriel Stricker VP, marketing communications, Twitter @gabrielstricker (16,203)
Stricker is responsible for defining Twitter's messaging as it continues to expand and evolve as a global platform and commercial offering.

Jonah Peretti CEO and cofounder, BuzzFeed @peretti (33,812)
Peretti is behind the Web's hottest property that has ushered in a new era of social media publishing as it explores new content models.

Tessa Barrera Global head of social media, Red Bull @tessabarrera (440)
Barrera led social for Stratos, creating a record-breaking freefall from space and a great moment for marketing on the Internet.

Wendy Clark SVP, global sparkling brand center, Coca-Cola @wnd (7,247)
Clarke's understanding of the interplay of owned, earned, shared, and paid media, underpins Coca-Cola's enduring success in digital.

Alexandra Wheeler Global digital marketing, Starbucks  @aewheeler (3,140)
Wheeler has been at the helm of Starbucks' digital marketing for seven years, leading one of the most effective teams in marketing.

Chris Perry Global head of digital, Weber Shandwick @cperry248 (3,805)
Perry drives the digital agenda at Weber, collaborating with the IPG firm's leadership team and helping clients with digital strategies.

Teddy Goff Cofounder, Precision @teddygoff (9,924)
Goff led the acclaimed digital strategy for President Obama's re-election and recently opened a consultancy firm with other campaign alumni.

Christopher Bailey Chief creative officer, Burberry (No Twitter handle)
Bailey is a true visionary, having transformed Burberry from an aging luxury brand to one at the bleeding edge of digital creativity.

Hugh Forrest Director, SXSW Interactive @Hugh_W_Forrest (2,896)
He is responsible for the global gathering that brings the world's most innovative and creative minds to Austin, TX, each year.

Ekaterina Walter Partner and CMO, Branderati @Ekaterina (46,321)
The former Intel social media strategist has become a key voice in the online influence debate and helps brands connect with advocates.

*Twitter followers updated as of 9/30/13.

Would you like to post a comment?

Please Sign in or register.

News by email...